Blacktrade Devblog 006 – Dive functionality

Blacktrade is an important step in my career as a game developer. To me, it is my true chance to prove to myself that my confidence is not misplaced, that I can, and will bring to completion something I put my mind to. One big challenge is learning to use a new system in a new engine, namely UE4’s blueprint system. After wetting my feet getting the base controls in, I set my first task to building the dive functionality. After alot of brain mashing and a little guidance from industry professionals, I managed to implement the functionality. While this is terribly messy at present, and will be cleaned up in future, here is what the dive loop looks like in blueprints.

SC_InGameDevshot_005

Leave a Reply

