Image

The mage duels project is all about realizing a new concept, and bringing it to life, an experiment of sorts. For that purpose, it would be counter productive for me to create my own physical environmental assets as I normally would, so I have imported a Unity store package called “Palace of Orinthalian”, owned and copy protected by GearTech Games. It serves the purpose of giving me a space in which to test the fundamentals of the game’s design. After it was in place and working with my current player character controls I set out the foundations for the first person targeting system. The idea of this system is to have the player keep the target between the crosshairs in the center of the screen for a set time to lock on, enabling the player to enter the casting state. A state machine was set up to manage this through enumerators and the targeting utilises a raycast checking tags on the objects it hits. 

Leave a Reply

